June 30, 2011

Tauntaun Costumes: A Collection

I was skimming through some photos of a recent Star Wars day at California's LEGOLAND when I noticed a kid dressed like Luke Skywalker riding a tauntaun. It was one of the cutest costumes I have seen on this side of the galaxy. I don't know if I could cut open that tauntaun for survival. Out of curiosity I looked around for other Hoth inspired costumes. I had no idea it was so popular. As you can imagine, the costumes go from adorable to frightening to hilarious. To give my search for tauntauns purpose, I decided to round up my favorites for other people to enjoy.

The picture that started the search. Taken by Lesley Farquhar.

This is Scott Holden and his tauntaun. Let's call him Bob. Holden built Bob the tauntaun for a Zone Ball in 2009. He's actually using stilts inside this massive beast. See photos of construction at at Technabob.

Yes, that's a tauntaun dress. With a picture of Luke "inside." I don't know why, but this one disturbs me. Found on Ugo.

A fantastic tauntaun from Star Wars: Celebration III. Photo by Bonnie Burton.

This version has a few anatomy problems. The most noticeable issue is the square head. The fur is also off, but I guess somewhere there could be tauntauns with brown fur. Maybe Tatooine tauntauns? No? I think the guy gets a C for halfway effort. Photo by Chanuck

And finally, because you shouldn't limit the fun to one person - a tauntaun costume made for two by Victor Huang.
Have you seen any of these creatures out in the convention wilds?  Please share links in the comments!


  1. re: The Dress; not gonna make a smells bad on the outside comment... not gonna make a smells bad on the outside comment....

  2. That's got to be one of the toughest costumes to deal with at a convention! You never know if the tail is hitting someone...worse than the Lady With A Giant Purse.

  3. the last picture is too big for a single person to wear. too big that they can be worn as couple costumes!

  4. William - good restraint!

    Chloe - Yep, the last picture is a two person costume!

  5. Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...