December 22, 2014

DIY: Making Pink and Purple AT-ATs (or how to do a simple toy repaint)

You never know where you'll come across crafting inspiration. A few weeks ago on Twitter, I spotted Tricia Barr and Pink Bunny talking about pink AT-ATs. Tricia was mentioning stickers, and Pink Bunny was hoping for actual pink AT-ATs. I've been wanting to try basic toy repainting for a while so I put it on my list. I found a few mini AT-ATs in my stash (I always purchase miniature Star Wars vehicles when I come across good deals) and decided to make them pink and purple. Tada!


It's easy as can be, and really, the hardest part was waiting for layers of paint to dry.


Supplies
A toy or several
Paint brushes
Acrylic paint in whatever colors you'd like (put down a base of gray acrylic paint if the toy you're painting isn't already gray)
Cup and water
Paper towels

Optional
Glitter or pearlescent powder
Fine grit sandpaper

Wipe down your toy with a paper towel. Optional: if you want to give the surface a little grip, go over it once with a fine grit sandpaper.

If your toy is not already gray - both of my miniature AT-ATs were - paint it with approximately two coats of acrylic paint so there's a nice uniform base. Let the paint dry completely between coats.
I'm sure spray paint would also work fine and probably look cleaner, but you need to use spray paint outside and it's cold where I live so that's not happening.


Once you have a gray surface, painted on or otherwise, add pretty colors. I realized a foam brush is not ideal for this project since it sucks up the paint, but any other paint brushes should be fine. I recommend using both medium and small sizes. Add the paint in thin layers, waiting for each layer to dry completely before moving on. Don't layer on too much paint or the paint will cover up the details (you can see where I did that with the pink AT-AT). Unless you're more talented than me, you're going to get paint on your fingertips.

When you're happy with the opaqueness of the paint, clean your brushes and admire your new brightly colored AT-AT army. If you want to apply glitter or pearlescent pigments, shake it on while the paint is still wet (or you can buy glittery acrylic paint).

If you're feeling ambitious, you can go back and add shadows and/or highlights once the toy is dry. I tried to add some texture to my gold R2-D2 with a little bit of black acrylic paint mixed with a lot of water (I brushed a lot on, let it sink into the nooks, and wiped most of it off with a paper towel).


I love the pink one, but of these repaints, my favorite AT-AT is the purple one.

9 comments:

  1. Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete


  2. افضل شركة تنظيف خزانات ومنازل وشقق بالمدينة المنورة شركة غسيل خزانات ومكافحة حشرات بالمدينة المنورة ونقل عفش بالمدينة المنورة مؤسسة صفوة المدينة
    شركة غسيل خزانات بالمدينة المنورة

    ReplyDelete

  3. شركة نقل اثاث بالدمام التفاؤل شركة نقل اثاث بالخبر كما انها افضل شركة نقل اثاث بالجبيل نقل عفش واثاث بالجبيل والخبر والقطيف والدمام
    شركة نقل اثاث بالدمام
    شركة نقل اثاث بالجبيل
    شركة نقل اثاث بالقطيف

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...