March 9, 2015

DIY Star Wars Rebels Jacket

Star Wars Celebration is practically around the corner, and I have Star Wars Rebels on the brain. There are some Rebels wearables on the market and I own some of them, but I like to make my own stuff too. I've talked to Tricia and Sarah at Fangirls Going Rogue podcast about making fangirl flair for Celebration and though I have my Chopper shoes, I needed something else. And it hit me when I had to run an errand at the mall over the weekend: I spotted a green canvas jacket on display at Forever 21 and realized I needed to make a jacket with the Star Wars Rebels phoenix on the back.

Forever 21 ended up having a variety of jackets in stock: blue denim, black denim, khaki, and military green. After consulting Twitter, I went with green. It seems the most Rebel-y. Very technical term. I had everything else I needed in my craft stash (being a craft supply hoarder pays off!) and finished this jacket in less than an hour:


(The sun is hitting my head at a weird angle. I don't have multi-colored hair as far as I know).

And you can make your very own!


Supplies:
Phoenix symbol - I used this one posted by Aaron Ross
Cardstock
Scissors or X-acto knife
Masking tape
Foam paintbrush
Regular paintbrush
Jacket
Ruler
Acrylic or fabric paint in the color(s) of your choice
Pencil

Measure the back of your jacket and decide how big you want the phoenix symbol to be and where you want to place it. Mark where you want to paint it on with a pencil.

Take your measurements, adjust the size of the phoenix symbol, print it on cardstock, and cut out the phoenix to leave a negative space.
If you can't print on cardstock or Bristol board or anything thicker than regular paper, print the phoenix on that regular paper, tape the paper to something sturdier (an old file folder would work!), trace it, and cut around the edges to make a stencil. Using an X-acto knife will let you be more precise.



Use masking tape to securely attach your stencil to the back of your jacket. Before you start painting, place a piece of cardboard or old newspapers or something under the jacket so it doesn't bleed through onto a surface you care about (chances are your fabric will be thick enough that this won't be an issue but just in case). You'll probably want to flatten your jacket more than I did. You could even get crazy and iron it.

Use your foam brush to stipple on paint; be careful not to swipe it under the edges of the stencil. I used acrylic paint and mixed together two shades: Americana's Purple Pizzazz and Folk Art's Violet Pansy. The work of Sabine Wren was my inspiration so using her color palette made sense. Plus, I really like purple.

Build up the paint layer by layer until it's opaque. You can brush the paint on towards the inside of the design to give it a smooth look rather than stippling it. While the purple paint is still a little wet, use a regular, smaller paintbrush to add some other colors. I used Folk Art's Pumpkin (a nice bright orange) to swirl in some highlights. Lighter pinks and purples would also look nice.

The amount of acrylic paint I used didn't stiffen the fabric much (again, it's a thick fabric) but if you're worried about that, add a bit of acrylic medium to your paint. That might help the paint last longer too.


I thought some messy-looking paint splatter would help give the jacket a freshly painted graffiti look. I used a couple other shades of purple (told you I was a hoarder) and mixed them with several drops of water. I loaded up the paintbrush and flicked the bristles over the jacket until I got the look I wanted. I did the same with a little of the orange paint. I smeared a few of the drops intentionally and a couple others unintentionally. If you think you've overdone it, you can wipe up errant spots with paper towels if you act quickly.


Then you're all done. Let the jacket dry overnight. After the paint is completely dry, you can use an iron on a low setting on the reverse side (on the inside of the jacket) to heat set the design.

When it comes time to wash it, I recommend handwashing in cold water and letting it air dry only.


21 comments:

  1. This is awesome. I'm gonna do it!!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay! I want to see pictures when you're done!

      Delete
  2. I think the graffiti look works Amy and it looks great!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Maurice! I might splatter a little more orange paint on there just because. :)

      Delete
  3. Awesome! The color looks great!! And I love the graffiti splatters :)

    You could also try using the freezer paper stencil technique to iron on instead of having to use masking tape to hold the stencil in place.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Love the jacket! I may try it later with the Jedi, but the celebration I decided to try vintage hats with Star Wars trim. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. This is such a excellent kinds of substance for making a just the thing and new glance introduce with us. Fashion is very essential. It is life-enhancing and, like the whole thing that gives pleasure, it is worth doing well. Deadpool Negasonic Teenage Warhead Jacket

    ReplyDelete
  6. You have done great work, back logo is awesome.
    Star Wars Jackets

    ReplyDelete
  7. A cowhide cruiser coat is an exemplary staple to a biker. We see left and right, motion pictures or genuine living, me and ladies wearing a cowhide coat to finish their look.
    Motorcykel jakke

    ReplyDelete
  8. Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete
  9. Can I give you an opinion? Do you think you could add a few more in the way of content in this post? I want to know more about this update.
    tedwed

    ReplyDelete
  10. اهم شركات كشف تسربات المياه بالدمام كذلك معرض اهم شركة مكافحة حشرات بالدمام والخبر والجبيل والخبر والاحساء والقطيف كذكل شركة تنظيف خزانات بجدة وتنظيف بجدة ومكافحة الحشرات بالخبر وكشف تسربات المياه بالجبيل والقطيف والخبر والدمام
    شركة تنظيف خزانات بجدة
    شركة مكافحة حشرات بالدمام
    شركة كشف تسربات المياه بالدمام

    ReplyDelete
  11. اهم شركات نقل العفش والاثاث بالدمام والخبر والجبيل اولقطيف والاحساء والرياض وجدة ومكة المدينة المنورة والخرج والطائف وخميس مشيط وبجدة افضل شركة نقل عفش بجدة نعرضها مجموعة الفا لنقل العفش بمكة والخرج والقصيم والطائف وتبوك وخميس مشيط ونجران وجيزان وبريدة والمدينة المنورة وينبع افضل شركات نقل الاثاث بالجبيل والطائف وخميس مشيط وبريدة وعنيزو وابها ونجران المدينة وينبع تبوك والقصيم الخرج حفر الباطن والظهران
    شركة نقل عفش بالرياض
    شركة نقل عفش بالطائف
    شركة نقل عفش بالدمام
    شركة نقل عفش بجدة
    شركة نقل عفش بمكة
    شركة نقل عفش بالمدينة المنورة
    شركة نقل عفش بينبع
    شركة نقل عفش بالخرج
    شركة نقل عفش بالقصيم

    ReplyDelete

  12. I just want to say thanks for your wonderful post, it is contain a lot of knowledge and information that i needed right now .

    hostgator black friday sale

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...